A Resolutionless New Year

Standard

Happy New Year!! It’s January 1st and I really can’t believe it. It seems that this past year has flown by. In some ways that’s a good thing….you know, in the parts of the year that were real crap – I’m glad those are moving on. But, in other ways I think I missed a lot. I think maybe I was so focused on the negative things that were going on that I failed to really enjoy the positive moments. I know there were loads of positive moments and I feel somewhat ashamed that I didn’t acknowledge them a bit more.

So today I have a resolution. I say this with trepidation because I really don’t like making new year’s resolutions. Typically within 2 weeks the resolutions are broken or forgotten or altered in some way. I’ve always tended to set rather unattainable goals it seems. So my resolution is to not make any resolutions. I’m not making a list of things to accomplish that inevitably contains losing a particular number of pounds, reading a certain number of books, exercising religiously and donating more time to charities. Sure those are great goals, but they are the same ones that I end up stating every year…..along with I’m guessing about a million other people.

This year I’m going to focus on living life. I’m going to try to daily remind myself that no one has a perfect life, that all of us face trials and bumps in the road….and they help to shape our character. Every single person has bad days, terrible things that happen in their lives and situations that they never saw coming. But every single person also has fantastic days, wonderful things that happen and pleasant surprises that they never saw coming. I think the key is to focus on those things. Yes, the tough times can get us down. And that’s okay…..it’s normal to get down and frustrated and sad and lonely and irritated and a bunch of other adjectives….but we have to remember that every morning just may be the one that brings the wonderful surprise. At least that’s what I’m going to try to remember. I’ll deal with the bad, lean on those that love me, gather strength from them when I’m not feeling so strong….and then brush myself off and realize that every day is a gift I have been given. I have people who love me and that I love more than everything. It’s time to smile.

Now, with all of that said…….I’m going to cook my way to happiness!! For me, cooking is an art. It’s a gift that some have and some don’t . I’m fortunate enough to have it. I love to cook and I love to share what I make. When I cook it’s out of love. I put a bit of my heart into every dish I make. So I’m going to cook more. I do it a fair bit as it is, but I’m going to experiment and try new things. I have a goal to try a particular number of new dishes each week….but I’ll just leave it at that since that seems a bit like a resolution.

My plan is to record what I try. Not in a Julie and Julia kind of way…..that’s been done. And quite frankly Julia Childs isn’t exactly my style. But…..I am going to occasionally mention what I’ve made and note any particular goods or bads of the dish or the process or…..well, you get it.

So, I hope everyone who reads this has a wonderful, exciting, fantastic, love-filled 2012. I hope for all of us that we can accept the bad and relish in the good. My husband said something that has stuck with me today…..”2011 was fun, but in 2012 how about letting go of the safety bar and really enjoying the ride.” Raise your hands everyone…..

 

One response »

  1. Enjoyed your “blog”……….wish you would write them more often. I pray that you truly will “enjoy the ride” in
    2012!

Leave a Reply

