Out of This World

Standard

Have you ever dreamed of traveling into space?

On this day in 1981, the Space Shuttle Columbia was first launched. Is this something we even think about anymore?

I’ll be honest. I don’t. I have no desire to go into space, I don’t want to have to eat food that looks like rocks in a bag, I don’t want to have to use the restroom in space….I can only imagine what that would be like. Imagine if, as a woman, it just so happened that the space trip coincided with your Aunt Mary’s monthly visit. Seriously…you know it would work out that way…..don’t periods always show up right in the middle of vacations?? I can’t imagine a jaunt into space would be any different. The logistics of that ordeal is just too much for me. I’ll pass.

This made me think about all of the people who have already booked their seat on the Virgin Galactic shuttle that Sir Richard Branson is heading up. The last I read about it you could reserve your spot for $200,000. I suppose that’s not terrible considering the Russian program was charging $25 million. But here’s the kicker: a citizen astronaut will only need 3 days of training before they venture into the great unknown. 3 DAYS!!!! This seems absurd to me! Being an astronaut was something little kids used to dream of being when they grew up – something the required loads of smarts and education – at least a little more than 3 days worth. Forgive me, but I tend to be a wee bit skeptical that the appropriate knowledge can be imparted in 3 short days.

And, I mean absolutely no disrespect when I say this, but we don’t have a stellar record when it comes to shuttle flights. What with explosions and faulty take-offs and problematic landings…..I mean really…..and those folks had years of training!!

I’m curious – would you want to travel into space? If so, why?

I’ll admit the pictures are really cool but as for me, I believe I’ll stay where gravity rules.

Leave a Reply

